Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Curriculum sets the standards for the learning, development and care of your child, in the Foundation Stage, here at St John's. 

Our Early Years consists of a Nursery Class and a Reception Class. Through the Foundation Stage curriculum your child will develop a broad range of skills and knowledge that will prepare them for the National Curriculum and Key Stage One. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum  is broken down into 7 different areas of learning.  These are as follows:

  • Communication and language
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Physical development
  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Expressive arts and design
  • Understanding the world

The first three areas are known as ‘prime areas’ and are our main focus as these areas lay the foundations necessary for success in the other four, known as ‘specific areas’.  Over the course of the year we will provide a wide range of materials and experiences that will support and enhance your child’s skills and knowledge in all 7 areas.  Through continuous observation we will create ‘next steps’ for each child, ensuring all staff know how best to best support individuals in the class to reach their full potential. 


Our Reception class now have their very own Twitter feed - follow them @SJTDReception 


Our Special Visitor! 

This term one of our core books is 'The Lighthouse Keeper's lunch' by Ronda Armitage. 

Every day the Lighthouse Keeper, Mr Grinling, tucks into a delicious lunch, prepared for him by his wife. But Mr Grinling isn't the only one who enjoys the tastsy food...

We were delighted when Mr Grinling came to visit us, to answer our questions. 

What's your favourite food Mr Grinling?

How can we stop the seagulls from eating your yummy lunch?

What does Mrs Grinling do all day?

Why is your lighthouse red and white?